حماية المدنيين خلال النزاعات المسلحة
< عودة إلى الأخرى الأخبار

غرب صحارا تعلن جبهة بولساريو تدمير بقية مخزونها من الالغام ضد الاشخاص الخاصة بها

12 يونيو 2017 | الصحراء الغربية - حظر الألغام الأرضية

111111

اعلنت جبهة بولساريو مؤخرا عن تدمير مخزونها من الالغام ضد الاشخاص الخاصة بها. في اجتماع مع منظمة نداء جنيف في شهر نيسان, قدم كلآ من الرئيس و وزير الدفاع لجمهوريةالعربية الصحراوية الديمقراطية سقفا زمنيا لتدمير الالاف من الالغام ضد الاشخاص التي كانت لاتزال في حوزتهم. حيث أن سيتم تدمير هذا المخزون بثلاثة خطوات مع نهاية شهر تشرين الاول 2018. 

تم تبليغ منظمة نداء جنيف عن عدد الالغام ضد الاشخصا التي سيتم تدميرها وستساعد في تسهيل عملية تدميرهم بدعم من الخبراء و المنظمات لازالة الالغام. سيكتمل تدمير هذه الالغام العملية التي بداءت في عام 2005 عندما وقعت جبهة بولساريو صك الالتزام الذي يخص منع استخدام الالغام ضد الاشخاص وعلى خلفية التوقيع على هذا الصك. قامت جبهة بولساريو بتدمير 13000 لغم ضد الاشخاص مابين 2005-2015.

وقامت جبهة بولساريو ايضا بعقد جلسات توعوية بين السكان على المخاطر المتعلقة بالالغام ضد الاشخاص. ساهمت ايضآ في تسهيل عملية ازالة الالغام ودعم الضحايا من خلال المنظمات المختصة طبقا لالتزامها.

 صرح فريد ميلان- مدير برنامج منظمة نداء جنيف- انه بعد التدمير الاخير للالغام ضد الاشخاص, ستكون جبهة بولساريو ملتزمة بشكل تام بصك الالتزام لمصلحة السكان وان صحارى الغربية ملوثة جدا بهذا النوع من الالغام حيث ان تدمير كل لغم هو بمثابة خطوة نحو ارض امنة للمدنيين. دخلت جبهة بولساريو في صراع الاستقلال من الصحارى الغربية من عام 1973 وبعد سنوات طويلة  من القتال وبوساطة الامم المتحدة تم الاتفاق على وقف اطلاق النار في عام 1991 ولكن لايزال وضع المنطقة معرضا للخلاف بين المغرب و جبهة بولساريو.

ونتيجة لهذه الصراعات اصبحت الصحراء الغربية ملوثة بالالغام الارضية و ذخائر عنقودية بالاضافة الى غيرها من اسلحة الحرب المتفجرة. المنطقة يفصلها جدار ترابي بطول 2700 كيلومتر ويعرف باسم الساتر وتم تحصينه بملايين من الالغام الارضية مهددآ حياة مئات المدنيين من المغرب و الصحراء.

منذ عام 1975 ذهب اكثر من 2500 شخص ضحية الألغام ضد الاشخاص و بقية اسحلة الحرب المتفجرة من غرب صحارى وفي عام 2016 كان هناك تقارير عن 22 ضحية جديدة من جانبي الساتر.

Protecting civilians in armed conflict
< Back to the other News

Western Sahara: the Polisario Front announces the destruction of its remaining stockpiles of anti-personnel mines

12th June 2017 | Western Sahara - Landmine ban

111111

The Polisario Front recently announced the destruction of its remaining stockpiles of anti-personnel (AP) mines. At a meeting with Geneva Call in April, the President and Minister of Defence of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic presented a calendar to destroy the thousands of AP mines still in their possession. The stockpiles will be destroyed in three steps by the end of October 2018.

Geneva Call was informed of the number of AP mines to be destroyed and will facilitate and monitor their destruction with the support of experts and mine action organizations. These destructions will complete a process started in 2005 when the Polisario Front signed Geneva Call’s Deed of Commitment banning AP mines and subsequently destroyed 13,000 AP mines between 2005 and 2015.

The Polisario Front also conducted activities to raise awareness among the population on the risks related to AP mines, facilitated demining operations, and supported victims through specialized organizations in compliance with its commitment.

« After this final destruction, the Polisario Front will be fully compliant with the Deed, for the benefit of the population. Western Sahara is heavily contaminated by AP mines and each mine destroyed is a step towards a safer land for the civilian populations» says Fred Meylan, Geneva Call’s Programme Manager. The Polisario Front has been engaged in an independence struggle for Western Sahara since 1973. After years of fighting, the United Nations brokered a ceasefire in 1991. However, the status of the territory is still a subject of dispute between Morocco and the Polisario Front.

As a result of the conflict, Western Sahara is heavily contaminated by landmines, cluster munitions, and other explosive weapons of war (ERW). It is divided by a 2,700-kilometre long earthen wall, known as the ʻbermʼ, which was fortified with millions of landmines threatening lives of hundreds thousands Sahrawi and Moroccan civilians .

Since 1975, more than 2,500 people have been victimized by AP mines and ERW in Western Sahara and, in 2016, 22 new casualties were reported on both sides of the Berm.