حماية المدنيين خلال النزاعات المسلحة
< عودة إلى الأخرى الأخبار

سوريا: القوات المسلحة الكردية تسرّح 149 طفلاً مجنداً

7 يوليو 2014 | سوريا - حماية الأطفال

جنيف في 8 تموز/يوليو 2014

في 5 تموز/يوليو، وبعد عدة أشهر من مفاوضات أجريت مع منظمة نداء جنيف (Geneva Call)، قامت وحدات الحماية الشعبية (YPG)، ووحدات حماية المرأة (YPJ)، و”الإدارة الذاتية الديمقراطية في روج آفا”  بتسريح 149 طفلاً مجندين في صفوفها، ووقعت صك التزام منظمة نداء جنيف القاضي بحماية الأطفال في النزاعات المسلحة خلال حفل رسمي أقيم في رملان في المناطق الكردية في سوريا.

وأضفى توقيع وحدات الحماية الشعبية، ووحدات حماية المرأة، و”الإدارة الذاتية الديمقراطية في روج آفا” طابعاً رسمياً علنياً على سياستها في منع الأطفال دون سن الثمان عشرة من المشاركة في أعمال عدائية، وحمايتهم من أثر النزاع.  فحددت وحدات الحماية الشعبية ووحدات حماية المرأة و”الإدارة الذاتية الديمقراطية في روج آفا” الأعضاء القصّر وشرعت في تسريحهم.  وعليه، لم يعد الـ149 طفلاً الذين تم تسريحهم من وحدات الحماية الشعبية ووحدات حماية المرأة يحملون أسلحة نارية، كما تم فصلهم عن القواعد العسكرية، وقٌدمت لهم خدمات التعليم وصفوف التعليم المهني.

وسجّل الموقعون تحفظات بموجب صك الالتزام تقضي باستحداث “فئة من غير المحاربين”، وسيسمح للأطفال البالغين ما بين 16 و18 عاماً فقط بالانضمام إلى هذه الفئة.  وصرّح عبد الكريم صاروخان، رئيس لجنة الدفاع في “الإدارة الذاتية الديمقراطية”: “نتعهد بعدم استخدام أي طفل دون الثمانية عشر عاماً في أعمال عدائية، بما في ذلك القتال، أعمال التجسس، مهمات الحراسة أو توفير الإمدادات للمقاتلين.  كما لن نسمح بانخراط أي طفل دون الثمانية عشر عاماً كمقاتل في صفوفنا”.

وتود منظمة نداء جنيف أن تشيد بالموقعين على التزامهم.  فصرّحت إليزابيث ديكري وارنر، رئيسة منظمة نداء جنيف بأن “للحرب في سوريا تبعات رهيبة على جميع الأطفال الذين لا يبقى لديهم في أغلب الأحيان سوى خيار الالتحاق بالقوات المسلحة.  والالتزام الذي تم التعهد به اليوم صعب ويحتاج لدعم المجتمع الدولي.  كما أن هذا الالتزام يحيي الآمال بأن تتخذ الأطراف الأخرى المشاركة في الصراع في سوريا  تدابير لحماية الأطفال.”

وستدعم منظمة نداء جنيف الموقعين في نشر الالتزامات المنصوص عنها في الصك على جميع المقاتلين والضباط، وفي وضع آليات وتحديد جزاءات في حال حدوث انتهاكات.

وتستحث منظمة نداء جنيف المنظمات الدولية والمحلية لدعم الموقعين في تنفيذهم نصوص صك الالتزام، وتقديم المساعدة للأطفال المسرّحين، والمساعدة على استحداث بدائل تستجيب لاحتياجات الأطفال ضحايا الحرب وضحايا أشكال أخرى من العنف.

إن وحدات الحماية الشعبية ووحدات حماية المرأة هي القوات المسلحة المسيطرة في المناطق المأهولة بالأكراد منذ انسحاب معظم القوات الحكومية في عام 2012، وتقاتل ضد المجموعات الإسلامية المسلحة على وجه الخصوص، لا سيما الدولة الإسلامية وجبهة النصرة.  وأنشئت “الإدارة الذاتية الديمقراطية في روج آفا”  في كانون الثاني/يناير 2014، وهي سلطة الأمر الواقع الحاكمة ف

Protecting civilians in armed conflict
< Back to the other News

Syria: Kurdish armed forces demobilize 149 child soldiers

7th July 2014 | Syria - Child protection

YPG

On 5 July, after several months of negotiations with Geneva Call, the People’s Protection Units (YPG), the Women’s Protection Units (YPJ), and the « Democratic Self-Administration in Rojava » demobilized 149 children from their ranks and signed Geneva Call’s Deed of Commitment protecting children in armed conflict during an official ceremony in Ramalan, in the Kurdish region of Syria.

Their signature publically formalized their policy to prevent children under 18 from taking part in hostilities and to protect them from the effects of the conflict. YPG-YPJ and the “Democratic Self-Administration in Rojava” have identified underage members and have started to demobilize them. The 149 children who have already been decommissioned from the YPG-YPJ no longer bear firearms and they have been separated from the military bases as well as being offered educational classes.

Signatories entered a reservation in accordance with the Deed of Commitment that a new “non-combatant category” would be created and that children between 16 and 18 would only be allowed to join this category.“We undertake to no longer use any under-18 children in hostilities, including for combat, spying, guarding tasks or supplies to combatants and we won’t admit any under-18s as combatants in our ranks” said Abdulkerim Sarukhan, President of the Defense Committee of the “Democratic Self-Administration”.

Geneva Call would like to commend the signatories for their commitment: “The war in Syria has terrible consequences on all children, they are very often left with no other option than joining armed forces. The engagement taken today is a difficult one and needs to be supported by the international community. It also raises hope that other parties to the conflict in Syria will take measures to protect children” said Elisabeth Decrey Warner, Geneva Call’s President.

Geneva Call will support the signatories to disseminate the obligations of the Deed to all combatants and officers, to set control mechanisms and to define sanctions in case of violations.Geneva Call urges international and local organizations to support the signatories in their implementation of the Deed of Commitment, to provide assistance to the demobilized children and to help to create alternatives responding to the needs of children victims of the war and other forms of violence.

The YPG-YPJ are the dominant military force in the Kurdish-populated areas since the withdrawal of most Government forces in 2012 and have been mainly fighting against  Islamist armed groups, notably the Islamic State and the Al-Nusra Front. The « Democratic Self-Administration in Rojava » was formed in January 2014 and is the de facto governing authority in the Kurdish areas.