حماية المدنيين خلال النزاعات المسلحة
< عودة إلى الأخرى الأخبار

منظمة نداء جنيف تجمع 21 حركة مسلحة في جنيف لمناقشة كيفية إنهاء تجنيد الأطفال وتحقيق حماية أفضل للأطفال خلال النزاعات المسلحة

1 ديسمبر 2016 | إيران - السودان - العراق - الفلبين - الهند - اليمن - بورما-ميانمار - تركيا - جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية - سوريا - كولومبيا - لبنان - حماية الأطفال

cansa-meeting

من 22 إلى 24 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2016، شارك 31 قائداً ومستشاراً لـ 21 حركة مسلحة من 11 دولة، من ضمنها سوريا، العراق، كولومبيا، اليمن، وبورما/ميانمار، في ورش عمل ومناقشات حول موضوع حماية الأطفال خلال النزاعات المسلحة.

“إننا نشكر منظمة نداء جنيف على هذا الاجتماع حول المعايير الدولية لحماية الأطفال، وللاعتراف بدورنا في دعم القيم الإنسانية خلال النزاعات المسلحة، هذا على الرغم من أننا نُعتبَر خارجين على القانون في بلدنا”، قال ممثل أحد الحركات المسلحة.

خلال ثلاثة أيام، عقدت منظمة نداء جنيف ووكالات متخصصة جلسات تدريبية حول المعايير الإنسانية وآليات حماية الأطفال خلال النزاعات المسلحة بالإضافة إلى قضايا محددة، مثل وسائل تحديد عمر المجندين الجدد وتسريح وإعادة دمج الجنود الأطفال.

كان من ضمن المتحدثين الممثل الخاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة للأطفال والنزاعات المسلحة، ليلى زاروقي، وخبراء من اليونيسف، أنقذوا الأطفال، طفل الحرب، إحموا التعليم خلال انعدام الأمن والنزاعات (PEIC) والتحالف الدولي لحماية التعليم من الهجوم (GCPEA). تم تخصيص جلسات اليوم الأخير، بتنظيم مشترك مع PEIC، لحماية التعليم، وخاصة حماية المدارس من الاستخدام العسكري والهجمات.

بالتوازي مع هذه الجلسات، تمكن ممثلو الحركات المسلحة من مشاركة خبراتهم والتحديات التي يواجهونها في تطبيق المعايير الدولية. “جميع أطراف النزاع يجب أن يطبقوا القواعد ذاتها. من الصعب حماية المدارس في حين يقصفها العدو أو يستخدمها”، قال أحد المشاركين.

إن منظمة نداء جنيف منخرطة في حوار متواصل مع كافة الحركات المشاركة لتعزيز احترامهم للمعايير الإنسانية. في حين أن تسعة منها قد سبق ووقع على صك التزام نداء جنيف لحماية الأطفال خلال النزاعات المسلحة، قامت مجموعتان بتعهدات جديدة خلال الحدث: الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان ـ شمال (SPLM-N) ـ أحد الموقعين على صك الالتزام ـ وقعت خطة عمل مع الأمم المتحدة لوضع حد لتجنيد واستخدام الأطفال في الأعمال العدائية، وحركة أفريقية أخرى وقعت على صك التزام نداء جنيف.

“لقد كان الاجتماع فرصة هامة لتعزيز معرفة وامتلاك المجموعات المسلحة للمعايير الدولية وأيضاً لتحديد إجراءات عملية يمكن اتخاذها لضمان الامتثال،” صرح باسكال بونغارد، مدير السياسات في منظمة نداء جنيف. وأكد أن “منظمة نداء جنيف ستراقب التنفيذ العملي على الأرض لهذه الإجراءات مع كلّ من الحركات المسلحة.”

لقد قدم الاجتماع أيضاً فرصة فريدة من نوعها للوكالات المتخصصة للتفاعل مع هذا النوع من الفاعلين ولتحديد أساليب لزيادة المساعدة للأطفال المحتاجين الذين يعيشون في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرتهم. “في العادة فإن الخدمات الأساسية كالرعاية الطبية والتعليم مفقودة، مما يؤدي إلى التحاق الأطفال بالحركات المسلحة،” أضاف باسكال بونغارد.

تم تنظيم الحدث بدعم من PEIC، اليونيسف، لوتاريه روماند، وحكومات لوكسمبورغ، النرويج وسويسرا.

تنظم منظمة نداء جنيف مثل هذه الاجتماعات حول حماية المدنيين خلال النزاعات المسلحة في جنيف بشكل دوري. 35 حركة مسلحة حضرت الاجتماع الأخير في 2014.

Protecting civilians in armed conflict
< Back to the other news

Geneva Call gathers 21 armed movements in Geneva to discuss how to better protect children and education in armed conflict

1st December 2016 | Burma-Myanmar - Colombia - Democratic Republic of Congo - India - Iran - Iraq - Lebanon - Philippines - Sudan - Syria - Turkey - Yemen - Child protection

cansa-meeting

From 22 to 24 November 2016, 31 leaders, commanders and advisers of 21 armed movements from 11 countries, including Syria, Iraq, Colombia, Yemen, and Burma/Myanmar, participated in workshops and discussions around the issue of child protection in armed conflict.

« We thank Geneva Call for this meeting on international norms to protect children, and for recognizing our role to promote human values in armed conflict, and this even though we are considered outlawed in our country » said a representative of an armed movement.

During three days, Geneva Call and specialized agencies delivered training sessions on international norms and mechanisms protecting children in armed conflict as well as on specific issues, such as methods to assess the age of new recruits and the release and reintegration of child soldiers.

Speakers included the Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict, Leila Zerrougui, and experts from UNICEF, Save the Children, War Child, Protect Education in Insecurity and Conflict (PEIC) and the Global Coalition to Protect Education from Attack (GCPEA). The last day sessions, co-organized with PEIC, were dedicated to the protection of education, in particular the protection of schools from military use and attack.

In parallel to these sessions, representatives of armed movements were able to share their experiences and the challenges they face in implementing international norms. «All parties to the conflict should apply the same rules. It is difficult to protect schools when the enemy is bombing or  using them » said a participant.

Geneva Call is in continuous dialogue with all the participating movements to promote their respect for humanitarian norms. While nine of them had already signed Geneva Call’s Deed of Commitment protecting children in armed conflict, two groups made new pledges during the event: the Sudan Peoples’ Liberation Movement-North (SPLM-N) – already a signatory to the Deed of Commitment signed an Action Plan with the UN to end the recruitment and use of children in hostilities and another African movement signed Geneva Call’s Deed of Commitment.

«The meeting was a key opportunity to strengthen armed movements’ knowledge and ownership of international norms but also to identify practical measures they could take to ensure compliance, » noted Pascal Bongard, Geneva Call’s Policy Director. He assured that, « Geneva Call will follow up on the actual implementation on the ground of these measures with each armed movement

The meeting also provided a unique opportunity for specialized agencies to interact with this kind of actors and to identify ways to increase assistance to children in need living in areas under their control. « Often basic services such as healthcare or education are lacking, which may lead children to join armed movements,» Pascal Bongard added.

The event was organized with the support of PEIC, UNICEF, Loterie Romande and the Governments of Luxembourg, Norway and Switzerland.

Geneva Call regularly organizes such meetings in Geneva on the protection of civilians in armed conflict. 35 armed movements attended the last one in 2014.

List of participating armed movements: http://bit.ly/2gOUWLF